Election Information

The symphony members will vote for the Murray Symphony music director on May 25 at 7 pm.


The symphony director candidates are Ernie Nielsen, Lauren Tian, Michelle Willis, and Jim Thompson. The Associate (Jim) and Assistant (Michelle) will remain the same unless Jim or Michelle are voted to become the new director.  If needed, the vacant position will be filled by the new director.

The day of the election (May 25) the symphony members will participate in “Ranked Choice Voting” because there are more than two candidates running for this position.  Here is an explanation of Ranked Choice Voting: “Ranked Choice Voting allows voters the option to rank candidates in order of preference: one, two, or three.  If a candidate receives more than half of the first choices, that candidate wins. However, if there is no majority winner after counting first choices, the race is decided by an “instant runoff.” The candidate with the fewest votes is eliminated, and voters who picked that (eliminated) candidate as ‘number 1’ will have their votes count for their next choice.  This process continues until there’s a majority winner or a candidate with more than half of the vote.” (fairvote.org)

To vote, you must be a member of the symphony. If you are under 18, you may not vote (per bylaws). If you are a sub, you may not vote. You must be present on May 25 to vote.

Also included on the ballot are Chad Davis, running for president, and Jennifer Waters, running for treasurer.


The following are 5 minute videos in which each candidate explains their goals and vision for the symphony if they are selected as the music director:

Music Director Elections
Jim Thompson
Ernie Nielsen
Lauren Tian